Firearms Licensing

Firearm's License Application Packet.pdf / Adobe Acrobat Document (PDF)

Size: 60KB

Last Updated: 02-14-2024

Click on Above Attachment to Print Packet and Read Prior to Submitting Paperwork

To: License to Carry (LTC) / Firearms Identification Cards (FID) Applicants

From: Deputy Chief Andrew Booth / Sergeant Christopher Arguoyan 

Please read this informational packet prior to filling out the enclosed application.  This packet should answer any questions you might have about the licenses and application process. Incomplete or improperly filled out applications will delay the processing of your application. When filling out the application please fill in all the information requested and be sure all answers are accurate.  Social Security numbers are required on the attached form to process your application.  Knowingly filing an application containing false information is a crime in Massachusetts and is grounds for denial and/or revocation of your firearm license.  A thorough background investigation will be conducted on all applicants which includes checks with the Massachusetts State Police criminal database and the Massachusetts Department of Mental Health.   After dropping off your application you will be contacted to set up a time for your interview during which time your fingerprints and photograph will be taken.  New applicants and renewal applicants should expect the process to take up to eight weeks to receive their licenses.  If you have any questions about the licensing process, call 978-369-1155.

Current Fees Set by the State

L.T.C. (Class A)                                                                                   $100.00

F.I.D.  (Class C)                                                                                   $100.00

F.I.D. Restricted (Mace/Pepper Spray)                                               $25.00 (ages 15-17)

L.T.C. Renewal Applicant over 70 years of age                                 NO FEE

L.T.C. Renewal for Retired Law Enforcement                                   $25.00

***No cash will be accepted, please make checks or Money Orders payable to the Town of      Carlisle

As of September 17, 2004, all licenses are valid for six (6) years.  Licenses of those individuals who apply for a renewal before the expiration date of their current license will remain active until the application for renewal has been approved or denied.